DIY Soft Light

So after plenty of research on the prices of soft lights and how to make your own soft light I decided to create my own, which ended up costing around $30 (much cheaper than many options online).

Materials needed:

  1. Lampshade- It really depends on your preference but I picked one up from Walmart for $9, it also needs to be big enough to fit a utility clip on lamp inside.
  2. Utility Clip On Lamp- You only need the metal fixing and socket, the clamp can be discarded
  3. Satin Sheet- Only enough to cover the large opening of the lamp
  4. Hot glue gun (and glue sticks obviously)
  5. Scissors
  6. Lightbulb
  7. Cardboard

I removed the metal supports from the lampshade so I could fit the utility clip on lamp inside. To secure it I measured out a piece of cardboard to fit the small opening at the top of the lamp and cut a small square in the middle to fit the socket and cord through. I used hot glue to secure the cardboard. Then I placed the lightbulb in the socket and placed the square of satin over the large opening at the bottom of the lampshade. I made sure that the satin was pulled tight and secured it around the edges with hot glue. I would use a daylight bulb instead of a halogen bulb otherwise your photos will turn out with a yellowish hue.

And there you have it! A simple DIY soft light to help add a professional touch to your photographs. To help your photographs a little bit more you can place a piece of white foam board behind your food subject to reflect the light on the opposite side to ensure proper exposure of the subject.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I have been meaning to do this. Have you taken some photos with it?

    Like

    1. Madison Ison says:

      Yes I have, a lot of my food photography is created with the soft light. If you look at my article sweet lola’s my soft light and a reflector was used for all of those photographs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

